The ERC Project PROTEUS – Paradoxes and Metaphor of Time in Early Universe(s) is happy to announce the First H&PC Conference that will be held at the University of Milan (via Festa del Perdono, 7).

The conference gathers outstanding scholars in Cosmology, Philosophy of Physics, History of Ancient and Early-Modern Astronomy and Archeoastronomy with the aim to generate a multidisciplinary debate and to give the opportunity to PhD students and early-career postdocs to interact with senior and excellent scholars in their respective fields.

Invited speakers:

Martin Bojowald (Penn State)

Miguel Angel Granada (University of Barcelona)

Niccolò Guicciardini (University of Milan)

Michela Massimi (University of Edinburgh)

Susan Milbrath (University of Florida)

Daniele Oriti (LMU Munich)

David W. Pankenier (Lehigh University)

Barbara Sattler (Bochum University)

Christopher Smeenk (Western University)

Lee Smolin (University of Toronto – Perimeter Institute)

Gabrielle Vail (UNC – Chapel Hill)

Alexander Vilenkin (Tufts University)

Call for Participation now open

There will be invited lectures in the morning and in the afternoon sessions PROTEUS research team members will lead the discussion of 3 subgroups in History and Philosophy of Ancient Cosmology, History and Philosophy of Early Modern Cosmology, History and Philosophy of Modern Cosmology, respectively. Subgroups are formed by early-career postdocs and PhD students from different disciplines and fields and will be carefully selected. The subgroups will meet each afternoon during the conference week and will comment and discuss literature previously sent to the participants. Each group will finally offer a short presentation of the results of the discussion on the last day of the conference.

Accommodation and travel reimbursement will be offered to the selected participants.

Those interested in applying should send a Cover Letter (max. 2 pages), a CV and a reference letter to by 1st of April 2022.

Organizing Committee: Silvia De Bianchi, Maria Laura Duarte, Farhang Hadad Farshi, Viktor Ilievski, Laura Follesa, Luciano Gabbanelli, Alvaro Mozota, Federico Viglione, Laura Marongiu.